Nominees Named For 2011 Courtney Walsh Award for Excellence

01 Oct, 2012

The Selection Committee for the Courtney Walsh Award for Excellence has released the names of four persons short-listed for the Award.  They are: Stefanie Taylor who has been playing international and regional cricket since 2008; Nadine Bryan a fourteen-year veteran of the Sunshine Girls; Nigel Davis, a Special Olympian who has emerged as a long distance champion; and Dr. Neil Gardner, a hurdler who represented Jamaica at the Olympics in 1996.

The recipient will be announced on the night of the Award ceremony scheduled for October 19.

Dr. Aggrey Irons, Chairman of the Selection Committee disclosed that the Committee was pleased that nominations received this year demonstrated an increased understanding of the qualities which are emphasized for the award. “We are not just interested in gold medals, we are looking for a candidate who is a model for students and young athletes,” he said.

The Courtney Walsh Award is determined by outstanding achievement in a sport recognized by the Jamaica Institute of Sports, and the Jamaica Olympic Association; representation at the national level, notable community service and a high level of integrity, national pride, dedication, decorum, humility and discipline both on and off the field.

Past winners of the Award include cricketer James ‘Jimmy’ Adams in 2005; Olympic Gold Medalist and Hurdler Deon Hemmings-McCatty in 2006; Netball Champion Elaine Davis in 2007, Cricketer Nehemiah Perry in 2008; Brigitte Foster-Hylton – Hurdler and 2009 IAAF World Champion (2009); and most recently, Aleen Bailey, 2004 Olympic Gold Medallist.